Font Size:  Small  Medium  Large

New Jersey's Three Constitutions: 1776, 1844, 1947

Maxine N. Lurie


The exhibition, New Jersey's Three Constitutions: 1776, 1844, 1947, held at Rutgers University's Alexander Library in 1998, was created to celebrate the fiftieth anniversary of New Jersey's 1947 Constitution. This important document in the state's history was ratified by voters in November 1947 and implemented in January 1948. To put that document in proper context, material relevant to all three state constitutions (1776 and 1844, as well as 1947) was included in the exhibit. The exhibition, which provided an understanding of why the 1947 Constitution was seen as necessary as well as how the state has changed and developed over 221 years, is the basis for this article.

Full Text: PDF DjVu